Pastoral Care at Valley Gardens Middle School

Please find below pastoral teams for Academic Year 2019-2020.

Each year group now has a Deputy Head of Year and a Head of Year, who are able to assist in more complicated pastoral situations. However, the vast majority of pastoral work will be responded to initially by the Subject Teacher and the Form Tutor.

The Subject Teacher will be responsible for the follow up of any issues that occur within their lesson and make the necessary contact home, document the issue and follow up, if necessary, with a child’s Form Tutor. The Form Tutor will be responsible to pick up patterns of behaviour across subjects, issues on the yard at break and lunchtime or increasingly issues outside of school, where we extend our duty of care. These are the people who know your children best and should always be the initial point of contact, should parents have concerns.

If the Form Tutor feels it necessary to involve the Deputy or Head of Year for persistent issues where a solution is not responded to, then professional dialogue will occur between staff and parents and a plan will be put in place. Mr Baggett, our Assistant Head, has overall responsibility for Pastoral Management. Should there be major concerns expressed by parents or staff regarding pastoral issues, he is available for discussion at the earliest possible opportunity.

Head of Year 5: Jonathan Roys

Assistant Head of Year 5: Alison Goel

5BK Sarah Brunskill

5DB Thomas Dibden

5ML Hayley McElderry

5JK Claire Jackson

5GO Alison Goel / Joanne Twizell

5SC Vicky Scurfield


Head of Year 6: Paul MacIntosh

Assistant Head of Year 6: Natalie Horsman

6KE Lynn Kerr/Sarah Harker

6CR  Dawn Charlton

6HS Natalie Horsman

6HY Helen Heaney

6MH Paul McIntosh

6MW Deborah McMorrow


Head of Year 7: Karen Ferguson

Assistant Head of Year 7: TBC

7OR Helen Orchard

7PO Matt Poxon

7KN Rachel Knowles/Kate Grimshaw

7MY Jo Murray

7BE Dave Best

7VC Sarah Vickers


Head of Year 8:Neil Wallbank

Assistant Head of Year 8: Sarah Hill

8HL Dave Robson

8DR Nyima Drayang

8FA David Fairlamb

8GB Scott Gibson

8BR Fiona Bradley

8HL Sarah Hill